10 things you don’t know about me

13 Aug

Many thanks to mammasaurus for tagging me in this exercise of pure self-indulgence combined with just a wee bit of soul-searching. I’m not sure that these ten things will make you believe I am actually a sensible and very well-rounded individual. Please do comment if you’ve not backed away by point number 10 …

  1. Both my second toes are longer than my big toes. Apparently it’s a sign of genius.
  2. I once appeared on Songs of Praise. There was a long close-up of me singing (well, miming) like an adorable angel (with a bowl haircut). My mum had made me stand on the pew so that I’d get picked up by the cameras. My family only went to church that day to get on the telly.
  3. I had poems published in several anthologies when I was a teenager. It cost me the price of the book each time – I now know that this was vanity publishing and therefore no reflection on my literary ability. Dammit.
  4. I’ve fired an M60 general purpose machine gun. By the time I realised I’d pulled the trigger the round was empty and I’d not even aimed at the target. Thank god I was aiming roughly in the right direction and not waving it around like a tool (me and the gun).
  5. I am a living, breathing A-Z of the best loo stops in London. (Two kids and bladder the size of a pea.) I even know how to get through the barriers at the toilets in Liverpool Street station without paying 30p.
  6.  My all-time favourite musical is Cabaret. Love it, love it, love it. I’ve seen it on stage at least five times. My favourite EmCee was James Dreyfuss and my favourite Sally was Kim Medcalfe.  Julian Clary (as EmCee) just couldn’t handle the Money Song.
  7. As a child, I once took a shoebox door-to-door round my street collecting for the RSPCA with the intention of keeping the money. I collected 10p. Sadly, a neighbour phoned my parents. Even more sad is that I’d not got the letters RSPCA the right way round on the shoebox.
  8. I would like my daughter to grow up to be a star of the musical stage – see point above. Unfortunately her father wants her to be a nuclear physicist so we’re looking for something halfway between the two. Square by day, star by night?
  9. I always wanted to have a BMX. I would pretend that my fold up girl’s bike was a BMX and really believed that no one else would think it wasn’t. In my head I would sing the theme tune from a TV programme on at that time: “BMX boys have a lot of fun, BMX boys have a lot of fun …” (despite being a girl).
  10. I once caused my husband to crash into the car in front of us by engaging in a spot of spontaneous preening. I chose an inappropriate moment on a roundabout to pluck a hair that grows out of his forehead. Oops. Would do it all again though. What kind of freak has a forehead hair?!

So like all good diseases I’m now going to pass this on to the following lucky (and very lovely) recipients to share their own ’10 things’:

verybusymama

Mama Loves London

I Missed the Memo

My Growing Obsession

17 Responses to “10 things you don’t know about me”

  1. Jenny paulin August 13, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

    I must be a genius too then!! I had a poem published in a local newspaper when I was at primary school it was about the Red Panda inspired by a school trip to some zoo!! Still smiling at you all sweetness and light and bowl hair styled singing on Songs of Praise lol x

    • Jamie Walker Ball August 14, 2011 at 12:18 am #

      An interesting list! I am now contemplating my toes and feeling a little inadequate 😉 Thanks for tagging me; now I must go search my soul for meaningful introspections and my cupboards for the skeletons!

      • C&P August 14, 2011 at 1:49 am #

        Skeletons? Liking the sound of that!!

    • C&P August 14, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

      If you still have it (or can remember it) you should add the Red Panda poem to your blog!

  2. Mammasaurus August 14, 2011 at 7:25 am #

    Ha! Very interesting – I did a similar RSPCA thing with a shoebox when a child (and yes I would have kept the money had the old woman at no.23 hadn’t dobbed me in to mother) – but I nicked veg. from my folks alotment to sell door to door for it .
    Sounds awful now but it appears it was all the bage back in nineteen-eighty-whenever !

    • C&P August 14, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

      Ooo, that makes me feel V E R Y old!

  3. Crystal Jigsaw August 16, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    Such a great post! I remember our church doing the Songs of Praise and even though I did attend regularly, the church was full to bursting on filming day, lol.

    I’ve added this post to my Blog Promotions Page – hope that’s ok.

    CJ xx

    • C&P August 16, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

      That’s super, many thanks!

  4. James Wilson August 17, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    M60 – now that’s a weapon and a half. Aged 15 I fired a pump action shotgun and, just for those few moments, really, truly believed I was the Terminator. Had I had the M60 at the same age I would have thought I had died and gone to heaven – probably because I would have shot myself by mistake and therefore at least done the dying bit.

    Did you ever see Nicole Kidman’s film debut – “BMX Bandits”?

    • C&P August 18, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

      No, but sounds like the film might be right up my street/pipe/grinding bar.

  5. janeblackmore August 18, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

    Hurrah, I no longer have freaky toes!

    I am a genius!

    • C&P August 18, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

      Hey, sister in toe-dom! We’ll rule the world one day.

  6. sarsm August 19, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    I had to LOL particularly at number 10.

    I have the toes too and the freaky longer ring than index finger. (Which supposedly means secretly I’m a man ;-))

  7. Amy Bernacki August 24, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    A great list Helen. I have never fired a gun, bad singer, Cabaret is too cool for me (I liked The Easter Parade). I’m too lazy to collect money, my husband still has a unibrow. Still, this list is making me smile with a cold (really milking it!) in bed, knowing that my son, Hudson is going genius with his big toe and I know you.

    • Crumbs & Pegs August 24, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

      Aw missus, thanks! Hope you’re starting to feel better. See you in the real world very soon. x

      • Amy Bernacki August 24, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

        I will be back in action soon and I wouldn’t mind a BMX!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Memes, Membership & Modern Friendship « I Missed The Memo - August 14, 2011

    […] post I’m writing which is inspired by a prompt from another blogger.  So Helen Redding at Crumbs and Pegs, thank you for the kick in the ass to put together a few thoughts.  Helen passed the torch of a […]

Leave a Reply

William's stories

Lots of stories!

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

blue milk

thinking + motherhood = feminist

Technology Solved

Hints, tips and tutorials for wordpress and the net at large

Domestic Goddesque

Home life. Home style. Home cooking. Home Exchanging.

Sara Bran

Notes on Gravity

bee & barlie's books

English Children's Books: Writing for other Expat families

Slummy single mummy

FAMILY /// LIFESTYLE /// TRAVEL

Grit & Honey

Women clothed in strength. Your story isn't over yet.

ccstomberg

Random musings

glosswatch

humourless mummy, cuddly feminist

My growing obsession blog

Struggles and successes in a suburban garden

angelbaby

a pro breastfeeding and gentle parenting blog

Style in my City

Fashion, food, lifestyle and culture in St Albans

Fives A Fellowship

One family's journey on the road less travelled

simonsometimessays

...and sometimes he sings it instead

Love All Blogs

the first blog showcasing site and non-profit making, altruistic network that welcomes all bloggers

dorkymum

parenting, photography, politics... and anything else that takes my fancy

Mayfair Mum

Adventures raising a Little Chap and more

SAHDandproud

I'm not a writer, not a journalist. Simply a Stay-At-Home Dad (SAHD) to two amazing children under 3 and a half. I tweet and blog about things that go on during the day and night.

Mammasaurus

A blog by Annie Spratt

Northern Mummy with Southern Children

Tales from a northerner stuck in the south

