The mat leave blues

15 Dec

I love Christmas but this year it comes with a sprinkling of sadness. I know that once we’re into the new year it will be a slippery slope towards resuming life as a commuter and office monkey. When I started my maternity leave last February, the year ahead stretched itself out so long and gloriously that going back to work seemed too far away to be real.

Where have the last few months gone? How did a chubby, flailing bundle become a sparky 8-month-old who can go like billy-o if there’s a wire or plug to be had? If I ask myself what I’ve done since February I CAN’T REMEMBER. I must’ve done something to fill the days. I didn’t have lie-ins, ‘sleep when baby slept’, or watch more than a couple of episodes of Diagnosis Murder. (Oh Dick van D, you no longer remind me of chimneys but instead invoke the aroma of cheese on toast and the heady days of maternity leave.) I suspect 99.9% of my time was spent doing the following:

  • Being pinned to the sofa by a ravenous breastfeeding baby and then being too scared to move once he’d fallen asleep (at the same time as burning the batteries on my phone checking Facebook and email or tweeting – and never quite managing to reach for that pile of books I could’ve been working my way through).
  • Talking about babies with other parents, including good old percentile competition. (He’s on the 99th percentile don’t you know?)
  • Eyeing up other mums at baby groups and classes and generally feeling inadequate.
  • Eating cake.
  • Eating biscuits.
  • Retaining my baby fat (see two points above).
  • Trying to come up with a Dragons’ Den idea that’ll make my fortune before I’m due back at work.

I’ve performed magnificently in most of these areas. The last point is the only one I’ve been tremendously unsuccessful at. Sigh.

To be honest, I am finding it really hard to come to terms with this special time drawing to a close. I’m not planning a third child (Mr C&P has other ideas) so I’ve wanted to treasure every moment of these past few months. And this is where I feel I’ve failed. I could have spent less time being peeved about the lack of sleep, or worrying about what wasn’t getting done whilst I was in the midst of a mammoth two-hour feeding session, or panicking that other mothers were doing so much more with their babies. In reality I’m not sure I could have done it differently, after all those first few months are all about survival. I’ve decided not to beat myself up about yet something else but instead give myself a swift kick up the arse, treasure all the bits I can remember through the hormone-filled haze and look forward to all that is to come.

6 Responses to “The mat leave blues”

  1. Helen December 15, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    Gosh! It’s like you read my mind!! I feel exactly the same! I’m going to miss Steve Wright & Jeremy Vine! Haha
    But you are right we have so much more to come & to look forward to. Half of me is excited about the new routine but the other half will pine what I’ve got at the moment- no routine!
    Great post xx

    • Crumbs & Pegs December 15, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

      Thanks for comment. Now you mention Wright and Vine I think I could be driven back to work sooner!

  2. Mayfair Mum December 19, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    Lovely post. Takes me back. Good luck with the return to work. I’m sure it will be easier than you think. Sounds like you will make the most of the last few weeks of maternity leave with the Little One – have fun!

    • Crumbs & Pegs December 20, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

      Thanks for commenting. Will definitely be making the most of it! If you hear of a cake shortage on St Albans you’ll know why …

  3. Muddling Along December 20, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    Hey you be kinder to yourself – it’s not about being the super parent, it’s about being good enough and being good enough is bloody hard work at the best of times

    Have you read What Mothers Do? Definitely worth a read if you think you’ve wasted time whilst off…

    • Crumbs & Pegs December 20, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

      Thanks for comment and tip! Will find the book. You’re absolutely right in what you say.

Leave a Reply

William's stories

Lots of stories!

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

blue milk

thinking + motherhood = feminist

Technology Solved

Hints, tips and tutorials for wordpress and the net at large

Domestic Goddesque

Home life. Home style. Home cooking. Home Exchanging.

Sara Bran

Notes on Gravity

bee & barlie's books

English Children's Books: Writing for other Expat families

Slummy single mummy

FAMILY /// LIFESTYLE /// TRAVEL

Grit & Honey

Women clothed in strength. Your story isn't over yet.

ccstomberg

Random musings

My growing obsession blog

Struggles and successes in a suburban garden

angelbaby

a pro breastfeeding and gentle parenting blog

Style in my City

Fashion, food, lifestyle and culture in St Albans

Fives A Fellowship

One family's journey on the road less travelled

simonsometimessays

...and sometimes he sings it instead

Love All Blogs

the first blog showcasing site and non-profit making, altruistic network that welcomes all bloggers

dorkymum

parenting, photography, politics... and anything else that takes my fancy

Mayfair Mum

Adventures raising a Little Chap and more

SAHDandproud

I'm not a writer, not a journalist. Simply a Stay-At-Home Dad (SAHD) to two amazing children under 3 and a half. I tweet and blog about things that go on during the day and night.

Mammasaurus

A blog by Annie Spratt

Northern Mummy with Southern Children

Tales from a northerner stuck in the south

