2012: the year of taking the trouble to

2 Jan

I’m not a fan of New Year’s resolutions. I always make the same ones and the only thing I succeed in is failing to keep them. Another year passes and I kick myself in the realisation that, had I kept them, I could now be rich and thin and dripping in bling. I could now be a much nicer person, bunnies hopping at my heels and bluebirds swooping in my perfumed wake. (Too much Snow White in the car over Christmas?)

So can I make this year different? Here’s the plan. This year resolutions are OUT and ‘taking the trouble to’ is IN. I am resolving (eek, that full-of-pressure and guilt-laden word) to enrich my life by taking the trouble to do things that my broad, lazy behind often thinks aren’t worth the time or effort. These can be small things (take the trouble to use the milk frother as even though I hate cleaning it I do love some froff on my coff) or large (take the trouble to devote five minutes a day to promoting world peace etc etc etc).

What I’m trying to do is make resolutions with no attached guilt. Consider it a little trickery of the mind. I’m tricking myself into believing my new year’s resolutions are all about choice and reward and not punishment and denial. (The hippy sex of resolution-making rather than S&M.) By ‘taking the trouble to’ I’m giving myself the chance to choose to be kind to myself and do something good. No shoulds, no self-flagellation, just a gentle nudging in the right direction. One direction is fine but choose the other and it could be oodles better. No pressure.

So this year I’ve no list of resolutions to keep. Instead, when I’m being too lazy or too mean or too darned pigheaded to do something that will bring positive consequences, I’ll be reminding myself to ‘take the trouble to’. I’m reckoning on getting a whole lot more done and being able to look back on 2012 and see my broad, lazy behind whipped into shape (and I’m not talking butt blasters).

Happy New Year!

9 Responses to “2012: the year of taking the trouble to”

  1. Expat Mammy January 2, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

    good plan.xx happy new year

  2. Clare Rudd January 2, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

    sounds good Helen, you don’t have to make big bold resolutions, just little steps to change you world. Happy new year xxx

    • Crumbs & Pegs January 5, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

      Happy new year to you too. Small steps def the way ahead!

  3. Rollercoaster Mum January 3, 2012 at 12:16 am #

    sounds like a good plan to me – good luck!

  4. Ren Behan January 5, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    Great post Helen, I agree it’s a good plan and sometimes it is the little changes that have the most impact. I’m resolving to make better choices (small ones likes chosing a cappucino over a latte – saving calories!!) or chosing go home after school via the park rather than straight home…Hope to catch up soon for coffee? All the best for 2012 x

    • Crumbs & Pegs January 5, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

      Thanks Ren. Happy new year to you too. Yes, coffee soon would be good. Back at work in April so will be making the most of the remaining cake eating/coffee drinking time! X

  5. Emma @mummymummymum January 10, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

    I like that! Great idea. Happy New Year. x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2013: the year of the tentative ‘yes’ « Crumbs and Pegs - December 31, 2012

    […] at my blog and review the sheer scale on which I failed to adhere to any of my 2012 resolutions. 2012 was the year of ‘taking the trouble to’. The plan was to shift my sorry behind and get on and do the things that I might normally grumble […]

Leave a Reply

William's stories

Lots of stories!

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

blue milk

thinking + motherhood = feminist

Technology Solved

Hints, tips and tutorials for wordpress and the net at large

Domestic Goddesque

Home life. Home style. Home cooking. Home Exchanging.

Sara Bran

Notes on Gravity

bee & barlie's books

English Children's Books: Writing for other Expat families

Slummy single mummy

FAMILY /// LIFESTYLE /// TRAVEL

Grit & Honey

Women clothed in strength. Your story isn't over yet.

ccstomberg

Random musings

glosswatch

humourless mummy, cuddly feminist

My growing obsession blog

Struggles and successes in a suburban garden

angelbaby

a pro breastfeeding and gentle parenting blog

Style in my City

Fashion, food, lifestyle and culture in St Albans

Fives A Fellowship

One family's journey on the road less travelled

simonsometimessays

...and sometimes he sings it instead

Love All Blogs

the first blog showcasing site and non-profit making, altruistic network that welcomes all bloggers

dorkymum

parenting, photography, politics... and anything else that takes my fancy

Mayfair Mum

Adventures raising a Little Chap and more

SAHDandproud

I'm not a writer, not a journalist. Simply a Stay-At-Home Dad (SAHD) to two amazing children under 3 and a half. I tweet and blog about things that go on during the day and night.

Mammasaurus

A blog by Annie Spratt

Northern Mummy with Southern Children

Tales from a northerner stuck in the south

