The pen is mightier than the parent

13 May

 

Pens

The joy of communication. For once, in this beeping and pixelated world we (virtually) live in, this isn’t a reference to mobile phones or the internet – I’m talking about good old pen and paper. Since my daughter started school last September we’ve not only seen her grow into an increasingly sassy confident 5-year-old teenager but we’ve watched her discover the pleasure of being able to write. The wonders of phonetics means that even without accurate spelling, we can still interpret most of the magic that spills out of her head and onto the page.

There have been tales of princesses, retellings of Horrid Henry, birthday party invitations, props lists for imaginary Harry Potter productions and, on a much more simple level, there have been declarations of love. But being able to write hasn’t just allowed her to articulate the pictures and thoughts in her head, it’s demonstrated to me, as a parent, how she’s becoming increasingly independent. And here I shall stifle a sob. Take the example below. Upon a recent visit to her Nanna’s house, my daughter requested an envelope for a letter that she wanted to send to her best friend:

SOS

When did the ability to concoct a perfectly implausible story of ponies sliding down rainbows become the means to compose a cry for help? Her first bid for freedom. Is she starting to shun the parental yoke already?

As I know my mum will be reading this (*waves*), I must add that my daughter’s plea is no reflection on Nanna’s hospitality. We are a long way from either child whining “Do we have to go to XXX’s house?” Whilst grandparents provide a steady stream of cakes, cuddles, stories and ballpoint pens to pilfer, their homes are a happy and much looked forward to place to be. What the letter has given me is a glimpse of the future when my children won’t want to be hanging out with Mum or Dad anymore. They won’t be penning requests to be saved, they’ll be texting them to their mates (or probably sending them via Google Glass with a mere twitch of the eye):

OMG MY PARENTS ARE DULL. BEEN HERE 4EVA. SAVE ME B4 I DIE. 😦 LOL

This makes me sad. Suddenly I feel an urge to savour every tantrum, every battle to get out of the door, as there will come a point when they won’t seek that attention from me anymore. The other day, I made my daughter promise that we’ll still hug even when she’s as old as me and I’m as old as Nanna. Of course she made the promise but I’m not sure I know how to ensure both of us keep it. Life can throw so many obstacles between people – distance, disagreements, or just growing up and drifting away generally.

So it seems that the bid for freedom all starts with a pen and paper. However, it’s 21st century technology that will hold us together. We might not always be able to ‘touch’ but we can ‘be in touch’. We can ‘share’ even when we can’t be there in person. One day, when my children have Facebook profiles, I’ll advocate the introduction of a ‘dislike’ button – I’m sure I won’t always ‘like’ what they do and the naughty step will no longer be an option. But whatever happens, I hope they will always need their mum and dad and we’ll have kept that promise to hug – even if it’s just a virtual {{{hug}}}.

4 Responses to “The pen is mightier than the parent”

  1. simonsometimessays May 13, 2014 at 5:04 pm #

    I think that you are describing one aspect of what is known as NRS – Neediness Reversal Syndrome. (OK I made that up.) Our need to be essential to our children’s happiness increases as their dependence on us declines. It’s only in communication that that need can be met; feeding them, clothing them, cuddling them to sleep and administering plasters – they all matter now. But unless our children stay connected to us as they grow and (gulp) make their own ways about the world, we don’t know if they need us or not.

    Another aspect of NRS is that it won’t be all that long (and I know) before you start showing your children what YOU’VE written in order to get their approval.

    • Crumbs & Pegs May 13, 2014 at 11:12 pm #

      Show them blog posts for approval? Eeek. I’m conscious that they might read them one day so am applying some filters to my fingertips already!

  2. Hiba May 14, 2014 at 6:45 am #

    Excellent article Helen! Feeling the same here and wishing often times that the clock would slow down. Thank you for writing this article. Lots of love and xxx from the sunshine.

  3. Crumbs & Pegs May 14, 2014 at 11:32 am #

    Thanks for commenting Hiba. I must admit that I do sometimes spend time wishing things would go faster – like bed times for example! Hope you’re all well and that your aircon is ready for your summer! xxx

Leave a comment

William's stories

Lots of stories!

blue milk

thinking + motherhood = feminist

Domestic Goddesque

Home life. Home style. Home cooking. Home Exchanging.

Sara Bran

Notes on Gravity

bee & barlie's books

English Children's Books: Writing for other Expat families

Slummy single mummy

FAMILY /// LIFESTYLE /// TRAVEL

ccstomberg

Random musings

My growing obsession blog

Struggles and successes in a suburban garden

angelbaby

a pro breastfeeding and gentle parenting blog

Style in my City

Fashion, food, lifestyle and culture in St Albans

simonsometimessays

...and sometimes he sings it instead

Love All Blogs

the first blog showcasing site and non-profit making, altruistic network that welcomes all bloggers

Dorkymum | Stories from Tasmania

Stories from our family home in Tasmania

Mayfair Mum

Adventures raising a Little Chap and more

Northern Mummy with Southern Children

Tales from a northerner stuck in the south