Wanted: new knickers

26 Nov

I received a tweet today from the lovely Mammasaurus asking where the nelly I’ve been and whether I’ve lost my ‘mojo’. I feel like my bra strap has been twanged. Rightly so – my blog has been sadly neglected for a couple of months. At the moment I don’t even feel entitled to call myself a ‘blogger’. I’m more like a ‘blogged’. As for my mojo, well I’ve had a peek and I think it’s still there (unfortunately only in the blogging sense). I’ve felt a couple of twinges anyhow.

Trouble is, I’m a lazy little blogger. I sit and wait for inspiration for strike. This approach is probably quite effective unless, like me, you’re so knackered that inspiration would have to knock several times with a sledgehammer before any brain cells flickered into life. Much of my inspiration comes from people I know or have met and, when I wasn’t on maternity leave, office life. The problem is, this has enormous potential to offend. There’s been many a time when I’ve been itching to put fingers to keyboard but concluded that the likelihood of offence far outweighed the amusement value. I live in a small city where seven degrees of separation is six degrees too many – I rarely speak without checking over my shoulder and certainly never venture an opinion on someone as more often than not it will turn out I’m talking to their closest friend.

Looking back at topics that have inspired me in the past, I could blame the below for my silence (although somewhere in there should be demanding children and Twitter addiction):

  • I’ve accepted that the Jeremy Vine Show on Radio 2 is an insufferable mix of high and low brow, I can’t do anything about it and I’m tired of ranting about it (lest I should turn into the type of ranty person who calls into his show – god forbid).
  • I’ve accepted that keeping pink and princesses out of my 3-year-old’s life is a losing battle. Bring on the sparkles, I can handle it.
  • The weather’s turned cold and women have stopped getting their boobies out in the name of women’s rights. Shame.

Is my blogger’s block therefore because I’m too accepting? Perhaps I need to go back to what I do best – getting my knickers in a twist. And if I want to go from ‘blogged’ to ‘blogger’ then I’d better find a big pair.

10 Responses to “Wanted: new knickers”

  1. Mammasaurus November 26, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    I am fighting the pink princesses and the impending tat that they bring with them at the moment – I fear I may have a year tops until Queen Scamp starts school and (heaven forbids) get’s her own identity without mummy’s constant input!

    Get yourself some stringy thong type of knickers that can easily be twisted and unleash your inner rawr – starting on Jeremy Vine ! xx

    Glad you are ‘back’ xx

    • Crumbs & Pegs November 26, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

      Thanks. Feel better for it! Best get on and order those pants …

  2. mygrowingobsession November 28, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    Glad it’s not just me that’s lost my blogging mojo! I think I have a good excuse though. Hmmm excuses and procrastination…a ripe topic for blogging don’t you think?

    x

    • Crumbs & Pegs November 28, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

      Hey, what’s your excuse then?! Gardens don’t stop in winter surely??

  3. Mayfair Mum November 28, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    Hilarious! Hadn’t come across your blog before you posted a comment on mine but this and your ‘Tagged’ post have both made me chuckle so I’ll be back for more. I feel blogged a lot of the time for similar reasons – I’m only partly anonymous – I’ve marketed myself to friends and family as well as the worldwide web! And my mother is my biggest fan – definitely helps one to curb her writer’s tongue! Nice to meet you and please do keep it up!

    • Crumbs & Pegs November 28, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

      Thanks for the lovely comment. And you keep it up too! (There’s always the Vile Vine to fall back on for inspiration.) Yes, I always have to bear in mind my mum may be reading.

  4. Mayfair Mum November 28, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    Ps: ditto re Mr Vine!

  5. Hethers November 30, 2011 at 7:52 am #

    One of my best friends calls into Jeremy Vine’s show…

  6. Cheetahs In My Shoes December 2, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    Jeremy Vine drives me to the ‘off’ button faster than absolutely anything else in the world. And as for the degrees of separation, in this place we know it only too well… 😉

Leave a Reply

William's stories

Lots of stories!

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

blue milk

thinking + motherhood = feminist

Technology Solved

Hints, tips and tutorials for wordpress and the net at large

Domestic Goddesque

Home life. Home style. Home cooking. Home Exchanging.

Sara Bran

Notes on Gravity

bee & barlie's books

English Children's Books: Writing for other Expat families

Slummy single mummy

FAMILY /// LIFESTYLE /// TRAVEL

Grit & Honey

Women clothed in strength. Your story isn't over yet.

ccstomberg

Random musings

glosswatch

humourless mummy, cuddly feminist

My growing obsession blog

Struggles and successes in a suburban garden

angelbaby

a pro breastfeeding and gentle parenting blog

Style in my City

Fashion, food, lifestyle and culture in St Albans

Fives A Fellowship

One family's journey on the road less travelled

simonsometimessays

...and sometimes he sings it instead

Love All Blogs

the first blog showcasing site and non-profit making, altruistic network that welcomes all bloggers

dorkymum

parenting, photography, politics... and anything else that takes my fancy

Mayfair Mum

Adventures raising a Little Chap and more

SAHDandproud

I'm not a writer, not a journalist. Simply a Stay-At-Home Dad (SAHD) to two amazing children under 3 and a half. I tweet and blog about things that go on during the day and night.

Mammasaurus

A blog by Annie Spratt

Northern Mummy with Southern Children

Tales from a northerner stuck in the south

